Fanfiction for a Profit?

Okay, so I’m a bit behind on this news, and I’m still struggling to understand that that will mean: Amazon will begin selling fanfiction on their site.

First, here’s who clued me in (and who probably has more of a clue than I do!)

Amazon Media Room: Press Release

All Your Fanfiction Belong to Us by Chuck Wendig

Midweek #ROW80 by Kait Nolan

Personally, I have a vague understanding of fanfiction, but it’s never held much attraction to me; I have enough characters demanding my time and attention without taking on someone else’s! Is this a good thing for authors, if someone else wants to contribute to their “story” – which is kind of what fanfiction is? Is it profiting off of someone else’s work?

I’m not sure how I’d feel if there was fanfiction written using my characters and worlds. Probably at least a little flattered – if readers are that involved in the world and characters that they want to continue the story, that can’t be all bad, can it?

And yet, it’s also my creation, my baby. And I confess to being a bit possessive. How would I feel about my characters participating in stories I didn’t put them in? I’m not sure I’d want to read them.

So, enough of what I think. Do you have an opinion? Willing to share?

What do YOU think? Is this a good thing, or not? Somewhere in-between? Recognition of new realities in publishing and writing? 

Thanks for commenting, thanks for reading, and hey, if you liked this post, why not sign up for the blog? Have a great week, and happy writing!

Leave a Reply

