I Dream of Apocalypse …

Sometimes I dream about the end of the world. A brilliant flash of light in the distance, which only later do I realize was the end of the everything. Or like a few nights ago, a massive “boom” that shudders through the house, signifying nothing will ever be the same again.

These dreams often wake me, shaking and frightened by the implications. More so now that it’s not just me I have to worry about: there’s a child to consider. Before I had kids, this was one aspect of parenthood I hadn’t really considered. And since the kidlet has been around (two years now), it’s like fear has increased.

And therefore the impact of nightmares, and fears of an apocalypse. When it was just my husband and I, well, we’re adults. We’d fight for survival, and of course, I’d worry about him and want both of us to survive.

But with the kidlet? Suddenly the necessity of food, shelter, safety, these things all become more important. It’s like I’m turned into some defensive mother-bear who has to protect my off-spring, and I’m not sure I’m happy with that idea (or the image). Does this make me stronger, or more vulnerable? How does it change the chances of survival? If you have more to fight for, doesn’t that increase your chances of survival?

What do you think? I love hearing from readers. 😉

Thanks for reading, and have a great week.

2 thoughts on “I Dream of Apocalypse …

  1. I would think it would make you stronger, maybe less likable but in the matter of survival – likeable is not so important. The instinct to protect a child is a strong force throughout the animal kingdom – it is the mother one needs to watch in any circumstance -it is a good thing – why have a baby if one is not prepared to face the monsters to protect – it is a good image:)

    • Thanks for the visit. 🙂 I hope it makes me stronger. There is that saying “what doesn’t kill you …” And yes, mothers – human and otherwise – have done amazing things for their off-spring. Maybe for all parents out there, our fear and fight for our children is what redeems and connects us – and something so ingrained in nature that it’s hard to fight. Have a good one. 🙂

Leave a Reply

