Spring Shiftiness … and Other Excuses

Spring is finally almost in the air … if you ignore that as I write this, there are a few piles of snow still annoying me, and the ground is still frozen hard enough to stub your toe.

And yet, there is new freshness in the air. Perennials and spring flowers like the tulips and daffodils are poking their heads up, and give rise to hope for not only a new growing April to June 2012 069season, but the eventual coming of summer and all the delights it holds.

Of course, it also means more of the year is steadily slipping away, while I ponder planning greenhouse-jaunts and my garden bursting with blooms (it hasn’t yet, but this year, dammit, this year!).

And, believe it or not, spring also makes me start to think about Christmas. Yep, you heard me right. Because this year – especially because my brother is getting married out of town shortly after Christmas and I’m in the wedding party – I HAVE to be on top of things, and have all my gifts made well before December (insane, down-to-the-wire gift making is not an option this year). Which means I need more discipline and plans in place to achieve not only my career goals, but also whip-up a storm of creativity in my office while I write, and up in the craft room.

All while I’d rather be out poking in the garden and sitting to watch the grass green, and the flowers bloom. Sigh. I’m already doomed, aren’t I? Oh well. Sounds like a pretty happy kind of “doom” to me. 🙂

What about you. Does spring have you aching to run outside and play? Remind you of the steady progression of time? Love to hear from you. Do comment below. 🙂

Thanks for reading. Have a great week. And hey, if you enjoyed this post, why not follow the blog?

Leave a Reply

