The Benefit of Distance and Escape

I was fortunate enough to escape last weekend on a girls’ weekend with my best friend to Victoria, British Columbia. And while I knew I was escaping normal life, my husband and kidlet (who I love very much), and the non-spring we’re having here, I underestimated the importance of escape and distance in a bigger sense.

Sunshiny breakfast in a heritage building

Sunshiny breakfast in a heritage building

Like escape from a particular thought pattern, from the particular direction I aimed and headed for, and from the thought processes that had been driving me.

It’s interesting how little it takes for us to escape. I flew about 1 1/2 hours away to do it, but sometimes it takes less than that. Sometimes it’s as little as going for a walk and removing yourself from a situation or room. It’s like throwing open the curtains and opening the window after a long winter to let in fresh air and energy.

I also, however, underestimated what catch-up would be required when I got back. While I had a great time and found treasures galore (yes, some of them were even sparkly), it pulled me so far out of the frame of mind I’d been in that coming back to certain things – like the plotting of my current WIP – has also been a bit of a challenge.

Well, I suppose those are the trade-offs. And after a weekend like that, it’s worth it. 🙂

What about you? Have you benefited from distance and escape? Or suffered for it?

Thanks for reading, love to hear from you, and hope you have a great week.

Leave a Reply

