When Everything You Do Seems Wrong

I’ve been having one of those weeks. Not horrible – I mean, nothing tragic has happened or anything. But I’m down and it seems like I just can’t catch a break. You know the kind, right?

Sometimes I wonder if I’m capable of making the right choice. Ever. And this when I’m considering my poor dining choices the past two times I’m selected from a menu. The first: I chose something “safe,” which tasted like nothing. The second time: I chose something “brave” – which I could barely stomach. November2012 040

I know, I know. Now it sounds like I’m just whining about food. But the problem is when it starts to feel like all the decisions in my life are the same way: I just seem to keep screwing up, over and over again. I make the wrong choice. Choose safe when I should have been more courageous, and brave when I would have been happier with familiar and comforting.

When it comes to writing, this just gives me a HUGE headache, because I wonder: if I can’t even chose the right dinner, how can I possibly know what editing choices I should make? Which is the right path / option to take with this current chapter? Is the chapter actually weak? Is the overall WIP weak? Or are these just my own insecurities hopping up like the freaking hydra?

The thing about choices is that I believe we have to make our own – even if it means we make the wrong ones. And we will make the wrong ones. Frankly, I’m not even sure we can get to a point where we have a higher percentage of “right” over “wrong” – because even that is completely subjective.

So where does that leave you and I (other than occasionally being stuck with paying for repulsive food we’ve ordered)?

Leave a Reply

