Books to Assist in the Accumulation of Random Knowledge

I LOVE knowing weird things. I like learning strange crafts that not many people know how to do. I like knowing weird facts and trivia. And I have an unusual capacity for obscure knowledge.

Which is why I’m pretty fascinated with the “Foxfire” series of books.

Yes, I may be one of the last people in the world to have discovered them, but that’s okay. I did discover them. And they seem like exactly the perfect thing to have if you were to, say, survive an apocalypse and have to learn to do everything by scratch.

Here’s the link to discover the story behind Foxfire itself with their website:

The Foxfire Fund, Inc.

Now, like I saw, I only very recently discovered them, which is why I hesitate to try to explain what they are. Essentially, my understanding is that it started as a student project / class to record and discover their heritage. To me, these books are packed full of stories and knowledge, not just about a specific area, but about, say, how you make shoes from scratch. How to spin and weave. How to make traditional and inexpensive toys. This is the kind of knowledge that my grandmother’s generation had, but which is rapidly disappearing.

Yes, I originally took out the books because I heard about the section on spinning and weaving – and that section I read in great detail. Otherwise, I looked at sections that interested me and caught my attention. I know my husband will be interested in the section about making a wooden lock (since it’s very complicated and generally unnecessary – just the sort of thing he loves).

Anyway, in case you hadn’t heard about them, I figured I should let you know. After all, they might come in handy after an apocalypse. šŸ™‚

Take care, and have a great week.

 

 

Leave a Reply

