Apocalypse 2012? Or Christmas as Usual?

As I rush around the house getting everything ready for the holidays (it doesn’t matter what I do, I’m perpetually behind, every single year), I consider that the end of the world is supposed to come before we’d actually be able to celebrate the holidays at all.

I’m not being facetious, and in fact, I’m a little annoyed with myself for even giving the idea that the world will end in 2012 more than one casual thought (it hasn’t ended with all the hundreds and thousands of other prophecies, and personally, I think the whole interpretation of the Mayan calender is hokey.)

What I did think was: if the world was actually going to end, would I do anything differently? Would I change what I’m planning and what I want to happen? Would I act differently? Should I?

My answer: no. Because hope and looking forward to something is an extremely important aspect of life. If there’s nothing to look forward to, we cease moving forward (why would we bother?).

So, what about you? Would you act differently? Are you acting differently?

Have a good one, and thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

