10 Ways to Finish the Rewrite After the Midpoint Wall

Rewrites are not fun. At least, they’re not supposed to be. Except mine was going really well … until I hit the midpoint, missed my self-imposed deadline, and seem to have run out of steam, too. Maybe I’ve hit my own personal crisis, maybe I’ve burned myself out pushing really hard for weeks to get as far as I have. Whatever the case, I figure I (and I’m sure others out there) need 10 ways to get around the wall.

  1. It’s a wall. Go over it, or go around it. Define and figure out the dimensions of the wall (in this case, what the problem is and what’s slowed momentum – personally or in the WIP), and then either go around it or go over it like any other wall. Maybe this requires working backwards from the end, maybe it requires relaying the foundations of earlier scenes.
  2. Look for a door. The thing with walls is that they often have a convenient door. So, if I feel my way along it, maybe I can find the door – and make my life easier. Maybe that’s giving myself a mental break so I can “see” said wall, or working on something else for awhile.
  3. Brainstorm possible solutions with someone else. For someone else, there will be no wall. Perhaps brainstorm with someone else – even an imaginary someone else – who doesn’t see the wall, and therefore sees and feels no impediment to completion of the rewrites.
  4. Take a mental break. Refill and refuel your spirit and your creative energy. Maybe this means stepping away from the writing for a little while – or at least doing something that makes you feel better and provides healthier perspective instead of just staring at the screen and banging your head repeatedly into the desk.
  5. Consult the map. With an earlier revision map and guideline, along with your own instinct, what was it that went wrong before? What needs to be fixed? What’s missing? Can you answer any or all of the questions? See point 3 to possibly solve this.
  6. Do something fun, and remember why you love writing and you love the current WIP (ie: why is it worth fixing). If you’ve been working hard, maybe you haven’t been having enough fun, and maybe remembering what’s great about the story will help you figure out where you need to go.
  7. Distract your brain with something worthless and let it mull over the problem without you stressing out over it.
  8. Review old notes made when you first conceived of the story. Is there something that hasn’t come across that might help you? Is there something the story / characterization / plot is still lacking that you originally envisioned? Could this be the solution you’re looking for?
  9. Eat chocolate, take walks, try to relax.
  10. Be patient with yourself. You’re not a robot. It will get done … even if it doesn’t get done today, or possibly even tomorrow.

Yeah, so it’s not a fantastic plan, bu it’s what I’ll try for now. Hopefully I’ll have better soon – and a direction forward in revisions – soon.

Take care, thanks for reading, and happy writing, everyone!

Leave a Reply

