Three Cheers for History, A Post-apocalyptic Savior

I’ve always loved history. When I was younger, and sometimes still, I imagine that I was born into the wrong time. As a woman, the more you learn about history, the more you realize that things have come a long way and suggest that maybe re-imagined history is the way to go. However, it’s the idea of re-imagining history that I think could be the key to mankind’s survival.

First, if we don’t know our history, we can’t learn from it (there are lots of nations in the world that haven’t figured this out, though, which doesn’t bode well for us.)

Second, by knowing what worked (or didn’t) in the past, we can build on this knowledge, whether for complicated philosophical or scientific knowledge, or more basic and oft-neglected skill, like handicrafts, gardening, and being self-sustainable.

My love for history has led me to appreciate and often pursue a lot of these things. That’s why I have my spinning wheel, my wood cook stove, why I garden, and craft. And it may be, in part, why I think about the apocalypse in a hopeful kind of way. Because I think that it’s more basic kinds of knowledge that could see mankind through – rather than how to operate the newest smart-phone, multi-task and do many things poorly all at once, or text and drive dangerously.

If you know how to make your own clothes, feed yourself, keep yourself warm and sheltered, you’re probably further ahead. Yes, protecting yourself is probably up there too, but since that isn’t one of my areas of strength, it’s often one I neglect to consider. The point is, it’s by understanding how our ancestors survived that perhaps, come the worst, we could too.

So, what useful, historical information do you have that could contribute to our survival? What can you contribute?

Thanks for reading, and have a great week.

Leave a Reply

