If the End of the World Were Nigh – what would you do?

Certainly this isn’t exactly a new idea – there have been movies looking at it – but if you knew when the world was going to end, what would you do? What make priority one, and how would you decide it?

Yes, I’m still probably thinking about Baby Avery and her bucket list (check out last week’s post and the blog “Avery Can” if you don’t know what I’m talking about). Then I thought: what if for some reason 2012 really was our last year? What if the world really does end in December, and none of us make it? (Note: I still am extremely skeptical about this actually happening, but feel free to say “I told you so” if we happen to meet after the apocalypse.)

Yep, you guess it: I’m talking a bucket list. But I think it’s also important to distinguish between priorities since, say, if I knew I only had an hour left, then my priorities would surely be different than if I knew I had, say, 6 months+. So the first step, I guess, would be to decide what your timeline is. If it’s, say, what you’re going to do in the remaining 5 minutes or 56 years of your life. Or, you could go the route of trying to get everything done, no matter the time. And I suppose if we’re honest, none of us know how much time we have remaining, so we may as well try and get as much done as we can.

This, of course, leads to the reason: why would you want a bucket list anyway?

To me, I think it has to do with being able to look back at your life and believe it wasn’t “wasted” (although what would constitute a waste leads to all sorts of new questions and issues, doesn’t it?). I also think it helps us lay out priorities, to really decide what’s important to us – important enough to be included in “must-do’s” before we die – and what can just fall to the wayside. Because the sad fact is that sometimes, we just let life “happen,” and time passes while we’re doing dishes, laundry, checking email, driving places, etc, etc, and before we know it, that time is gone and we can’t get it back. Maybe our lives are just like a leaky bucket with time rushing every which way if we don’t stop the holes.

Anyway, for me, my bucket list would include things I want to do with my family first off, things I want to do professionally second, and places / things I want to do third. I know this because I know myself, and that’s the way I organize my priorities. So no, I don’t have a formal bucket list, but I try to be the best mom I can be each day for the kidlet, I try to be the best writer I can be, and in the end, the best me. When my time comes, if I’ve really stuck true to those goals and worked to achieve them, I don’t think it will have been a waste. At least, I hope I’ll feel that way.

So, what about you? Do you have a bucket list? Do you believe in them? Do you think they should be determined by / for a specific space of time (ie: before I turn forty, before I die, in the next year, etc), or should they be lifelong?

Thanks for reading, and have a great week.

Leave a Reply

